Performing a Factory Reset on iPhone 11 [Tutorial]

During the previous years, Apple users were often advised to factory reset their iOS devices once every 6 months. This was to maintain the optimum state of their devices. But everything has changed with today’s iPhone generation. The Apple devices are now resilient and stable. Hence, there are still instances that you need to carry out a Factory reset on your iOS iPhone 11. In case you are out of clues on how to perform this reset, buckle up and be ready to learn.

Mapped out below are the things you need to know about factory reset, when you should resort to this option, and how it is performed. Read further.

Understanding Factory reset on iPhone 11 and when to use this tweak

Factory reset or also known as master reset is a process wherein you will be restoring your phone to its factory default settings. To elaborate further, factory reset essentially wipes out everything from your phone’s internal memory. From the customized settings, personal messages, installed apps, contacts, calendars, down to your saved photos, videos, and other important files. Nevertheless, restoring your iPhone 11 to its original settings will brand your phone as good as new. Technically, factory reset is ideal when you are selling your phone, or giving it to someone else. This process is also being utilized when having phone issues triggered by persistent malwares.  Restoring your phone to its factory default settings may sound disconcerting, but in reality, it is just a simple process that won’t take much of your time. 

What to do prior to performing Factory reset on your iPhone 11

Since the factory reset will cause a complete data loss, you need to back-up your phone with either iCloud or iTunes. If you opt to backup your files with iCloud, make sure that you have ample of storage space on your iCloud account and a stable Wi-Fi connection. Technically, iCloud is enabled by default once you logged into your Apple ID. To select which files or data you want to back-up, head to Settings->[Apple ID name]->iCloud and then toggle the switch of the items you want to back-up with iCloud like Notes, Contacts, Mails, Calendars, and other important apps or files. Meanwhile, you would need to have access to a Mac or Windows computer in order to back-up your critical files with iTunes. All you need to do is to connect your iPhone 11 to the computer using the supplied USB cable or Lightning cable connector, and then click the Back Up Now button under the Summary section in iTunes. Once you have successfully secured all your important files, you may proceed to restore your phone to its factory default settings. There are two methods on how to factory reset an iOS device. It can be done through your phone’s settings menu or via iTunes. Read further.

Factory reset via settings menu

The simplest way to restore the phone to its factory default settings is through your phone’s settings menu. This option is ideal when you are not dealing with screen display issues on your iOS device or you don’t have access to a computer. Here is how it’s done:

  1. From the Home screen, launch the Settings app.
  2. Select General.
  3. Scroll down to and tap on Reset.
  4. Select Erase all content and settings from the given options.
  5. If prompted, enter your device passcode and then continue.
  6. Then select the option to confirm factory reset.

When you factory reset your iPhone 11 by tapping the Erase all content and settings, this will completely erase your device. The card information added for Apple Pay, installed apps, saved photos, videos, and calendars will be deleted. Doing so will also disable your iPhone services including iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and iCloud. But the data and content that you have saved in iCloud will remain intact. 

The factory reset may take up to a couple of minutes. Once done, you will be routed to the start-up wizard screen. You will then see the options to either restore your iPhone 11 from a backup (iCloud or iTunes) or set it up as new again.

Factory reset via iTunes

This option is perfect if your phone is currently having screen issues like lagging and freezing. As mentioned, you also need to have a Mac or Windows computer with the latest iTunes version installed. If needed, download the latest software of iTunes. Then connect your iPhone 11 to the computer using the Apple supplied USB cable or Lightning cable connector.

factory reset using a Windows computer:

  1. Once your iPhone 11 is connected to the Windows computer, launch iTunes.
  2. Click the Device button on the upper-left corner of the iTunes window.
  3. Select Summary.
  4. Then click Restore iPhone and follow the rest of the onscreen commands to complete the factory reset.

factory reset via iTunes on Mac:

  1. Launch the iTunes app on Mac.
  2. Click the Device icon or button on the top-left corner of the iTunes window.
  3. Click Summary.
  4. Select Restore and then follow the onscreen prompts to complete the iOS restoration process.

Note that the iOS restoration via iTunes results to a complete data loss. Though the deleted information can no longer be accessed through the iPhone controls, but this information stays on the device. So if you’re planning to sell your iPhone 11, pass it away, or swap with another device, you need to sign out from your iCloud with your Apple ID. Doing so will delete all saved contents from the iCloud server and other devices that you’re logged into. Make sure as well that you turn off the Activation Lock when you erase your iPhone 11. This is to ensure that the new owner will be able to activate the iPhone 11 device using their account. Otherwise, you don’t need to log out from iCloud or turn of Activation lock if you’re restoring your iPhone 11 for troubleshooting purposes.

And that’s all about factory reset. I hope that we are able to help you one way or another. If you have other concerns regarding your iPhone, feel free to visit our Guides page. Thank you for reading!

Also read: iPhone 11: basic system reset and restore guides