How to enable Location Services on iPhone 11

Would you like to know how to enable Location Services on your iPhone 11 device? Scroll down and read further.

Location Services is among the relevant features that you should take advantage of on your iPhone 11 device. This option will allow Apple or any third-party apps to access your location information and use these information to help you with your queries. Like if you are heading to a certain address or location but don’t know the exact way to get there; the app (e.i Google Map) will give you directions on how to get there. But these location-based services are out of reach if the Location Services feature on your device is not enabled. In this post, we will help you manage and configure the location settings on your iPhone 11 so that you will be able to enjoy the benefits Location Services offer.

Also read: What are iPhone 11’s basic features and functions

How to enable Location Services on iPhone 11

Once the Location Services on your iPhone 11 device is enabled, all the location-based services will also be accessible. So if you are ready to turn on this feature on your iPhone 11 device, here are the steps:

  1. From the Home screen, go to Settings.
  2. Select Privacy.
  3. Then tap on Location Services.
  4. Toggle the switch to enable to enable the feature.

Once you have enabled the Location Services on your device, the apps that had previously acquired your location information will be given permission to access your location information. If you have in-apps on your phone that need access to your location information for the first time, you will receive a notification requesting for permission. The new location data permission on the iOS 13 beta and the latest iOS versions are as follow:

  • Never
  • Ask Next Time
  • While Using the App
  • Always

To check for specific apps in which Location Services have been enabled and which permission had been granted for, see the next outlined information.

How to enable Location Services for Specific Apps

It is important to determine what are the apps that have access to your location information and which permission it was granted. Ask Next Time can be the most ideal option user should select for each app as it will allow you to select Never, Ask Next Time, While Using the App, and Always the next time you use the app. The option “While Using The App” is also deemed to be the next finest option for granting permission since the app will only have access to your location information while it is launched or open on your phone’s screen. For security reasons, we don’t suggest users to select “Always” as this will allow apps to have access to your location information even when they are only running in the background. To manage the Location Services for your in-apps, follow these steps:

  1. Head to Settings->Privacy->Location Services.
  2. Since the Location Services is already enabled, scroll down to navigate through the in-apps and see the location sharing information of each app.
  3. Check those apps to which you would like Location Services be enabled, and select which type of access you will grant for the specific apps.

Once you have enabled the Location Services on your devices and granted permission to these apps, you have therefore given your consent to share your location information. For Apple, this information will be used to provide location-based services. While for the third-party apps, the consent you have granted is subject to their terms and conditions. So make sure to review and understand their terms and policies to know how these apps will use your location information.