How To Delete Instagram Account on iPhone

We have our own reasons why we have to delete our social media account like Instagram, Facebook and others. But doing so is actually easy to do and in most cases, the company that runs the platform will store your information in its servers for a few months or weeks before they get permanently deleted.

In the case of Instagram, you actually have two options; if you want to delete Instagram account on iPhone, then you can certainly be able to do so. However, if you simply want to take a rest from all the social activities online, then you can deactivate account and all your information will remain intact until such time you log back in.

When you deactivate your Instagram account, other people won’t be able to find you, although none of your information and data will be deleted. So when you log back in, your followers and friends will be able to find you again.

Delete Instagram Account on iPhone

Estimate Cost : 0

Time Needed : 3 minutes

If you really decided to delete your Instagram account, then you're in the right place as we're gonna walk you through in doing that using the Instagram app for iPhone or iOS devices. Here's how you do it:

  1. From the Home screen, swipe to the left to find Instagram.

    You might have to swipe a few times depending on how many apps you've installed on your iPhone.

  2. Once the app opens, tap the Profile icon.

    It's located at the bottom-right corner of the screen.

  3. While inside your profile page, tap the Options icon.

    It's located at the top-right corner and has three lines stacked together.

  4. When the options pop up, tap Settings.

    It's the first option and will bring you to the app's settings page.

  5. Now touch Account.

    It's located at the lower portion of the screen.

  6. Scroll down and then tap Delete account.

    You will have to scroll all the way down to find the option.

  7. Tap Delete account.

    A small window will pop up in the middle of the screen.

  8. Tap Continue deleting account to proceed.

    You may read the information on the screen first to know when your data and other information will be permanently deleted.

Tools
  • Instagram app
Materials
  • iPhone

And just like that, your Instagram account will be deleted after a month of inactivity. This whole process is basically just a notice and a request to Meta that you want your account deleted. You will then be given a month to decide. If you won’t log back into your account after a month, then that means you really want to permanently delete your Instagram account.


Posts you might like

Deactivate Instagram Account on iPhone

Now, if you simply want to take a rest from your online activities on Instagram, then you can simply deactivate your account. Since it’s just a deactivation request, you can take all the time you need and your account will remain inactive but won’t be deleted. Here’s how you do it:

Step 1: From the Home screen, swipe to the left to find Instagram. You might have to swipe a few times depending on how many iPhone app you’ve installed on your device.

Step 2: Once the app opens, tap the Profile icon. It’s located at the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Step 3: While inside your profile page, tap the Options icon. It’s located at the top-right corner and has three lines stacked together.

Step 4: When the options pop up, tap Settings. It’s the first option and will bring you to the app’s settings page.

Step 5: Now tap Account. It’s located at the lower portion of the screen and will bring you to your account page.

Step 6: Scroll down and then tap Delete account. You will have to scroll all the way down to find the option.

Step 7: Tap Deactivate account. You will then be brought to a different page.

Step 8: Read the information on the screen and then answer the question at the bottom of the screen.

Step 9: After that, enter your password and tap Temporarily Deactivate Account to proceed.

Once you’ve done that, you can rest assured that none in your account information will be deleted or changed. You will regain access to it when you log back in.

FAQs

  1. How do I delete my Instagram account permanently?

    You follow the directions in the first procedure as it will walk you through every step of the way to permanently delete your Instagram account. Remember, if delete your account, you still have 1 month to log back in to stop the deletion process. After a month and you haven't logged back in, everything in your account will be deleted. And if you attempt to log back in, you will be brought to the account creation page instead.

  2. How long before my account gets deleted permanently?

    You will have 30 days from the date of account deletion request. If you log back into your account within that time frame, then your Instagram account will be reactivated and the deletion will be suspended until you request for it again. However, after such time elapsed and you haven't logged back in, your account will permanently deleted and you can no longer recover your data.

  3. Does reporting an account on Instagram delete it?

    Nope, unless Meta decides to deactivate the account. Just because you reported an account doesn't necessarily mean immediate action from Meta. Your report will definitely be reviewed and only acted upon if the account reported did violate some guidelines. But even if it did, in most cases, the account owner will be notified and warned.
    However, if there's hundreds or thousands of reports worldwide from other users, then perhaps, the account will be suspended and the profile might even be deleted.